Lambs of Men
by Charles Dodd White

Fiction · Paperback · 160 pages
ISBN 978-1-934081-27-3 · Out of Print

Click on cover image to see full-size version

The War Comes Home

Returning from the horrors of the First World War to recruit volunteers in his remote Appalachian home, Marine Sergeant Hiram Tobit finds the country changed. His mother has committed suicide, dredging up old resentments between Hiram and his father, Sloane. When a gruesome act of violence stuns the insular mountain community, father and son must journey together to see justice carried out while coming to terms with a deeply troubled family history.

"Charles Dodd White's Lambs of Men is a beautifully wrought, rigorous work, its language forged in the fiery mind of a true artist. This is literature of admirable pureness and integrity." --Robin Lippincott, author of In the Meantime

"Charles Dodd White has written this rich novel of the mountains as though he's been saving every word of it for a lifetime. A book full of beauty and blood and bone, a story that carries the reader through time, through lives, through dirt and fire. This book strikes the heart so deeply that readers will be called back to it again and again. He has written this family and their circumstances with such tender care...A rare book where every sentence delights and startles. It's a small gem that commands the reader's full attention and entire heart." --Crystal Wilkinson, author of Blackberries, Blackberries and Water Street

"Written in the tradition of Charles Frazier and Ron Rash, Lambs of Men is that most rare of books: a violently beautiful story that is, at heart, a work of prose poetry." --Mark Powell, author of Prodigals and Blood Kin

Click here to read a review of Lambs of Men on Ben Tanzer's blog.

Click here to read a review of Lambs of Men on Steve Himmer's blog.

Click here to read a review of Lambs of Men at Dog Eat Crow World.

Click here to read a review of Lambs of Men in the New York Journal of Books.

Click here to read a review of Lambs of Men in the New Southerner.

Click here to read a review of Lambs of Men at Prick of the Spindle.

Click here to read a review of Lambs of Men at Small Press Reviews.

Click here to read the first chapter of Lambs of Men.

Charles Dodd White was born in Atlanta, Georgia, in 1976. He currently lives in Asheville, North Carolina, where he teaches writing and literature at South College. He has been a Marine, a flyfishing guide, and a newspaper journalist. His short fiction has appeared or is forthcoming in Night Train, North Carolina Literary Review, Pequin, VerbSap, Word Riot, and other publications. He is currently at work on another novel and a collection of short stories. His website is at

Coming Soon

Single Stroke Seven
by Lavinia Ludlow

Current Releases

Blood & Circuses
by Manna Francis

Ye Gods! A Tale of Dogs and Demons
by Lynne Hinkey

The Half-Life of Home
by Dale Neal

Marina Melee
by Lynne Hinkey

Enter Oblivion
by C.M. Harris

by Lavinia Ludlow

For Certain Values of Family
by Manna Francis

First Against the Wall
by Manna Francis

The Rage of Achilles
by Terence Hawkins

Quis Custodiet
by Manna Francis

by Manna Francis

Games & Players
by Manna Francis

Quid Pro Quo
by Manna Francis

Mind Fuck
by Manna Francis

Mouth of the Lion
by Lily Richards

Out of Print

Pacific Offering
by Tom Mahony

Black Crow White Lie
by Candi Sary

Gospel Hollow
by Jesse Jordan

Fame & Madness in America
by Garrett Socol

Flooding Granite
by Tom Mahony

Cemetery Bird
by Bridget Bufford

Lambs of Men
by Charles Dodd White

by Daniel Boyd

The Legacy
by John Russo

Truth or Something Like It
by Curtis Smith

by Bob Thurber

Imperfect Solitude
by Tom Mahony

The Gravedigger
by Ilan Herman

Hoosier Life & Casualty
by Ian Woollen

by Paul G. Bens Jr.

Seneca Wood
by Gary Clites

Silly Little Rich Girl
by Jimmy Gleacher

The Life Plan
by Sybil Baker

And Now for a Story...
edited by Lily Richards

Rock Dance
by Jack Ballard Jr.

Sound + Noise
by Curtis Smith

End Credits
by A. F. Rützy

Without Wax
A Documentary Novel
by William Walsh

The Tea House
by Paul Elwork

Motor City Blues
by Peter Ohren

by Chris Owen